About Us

Mission
 

St. Joan of Arc, a preschool through eighth grade school serving Perry Local and surrounding areas, is dedicated to providing a Christ-centered environment which allows all students to learn to serve God and others, to develop their unique skills and talents, to strive for academic excellence, and to become successful, productive members of the community. 

History


In October of 1944, the Diocese of Youngstown agreed to establish a new parish between Canton and Massillon. This church would be dedicated to St. Joan of Arc and serve 180 Catholic families in the area. Monsignor William Fitzgerald and the Precious Blood fathers provided Sunday and holyday liturgies at what is now the gymnasium at Central Catholic High School. In the summer of 1951, the property was purchased and ground broke for the school and temporary church. The first Mass took place on parish property on September 3, 1952. That same week the school opened with 272 students attending. The convent was built to house the Ursuline sisters who taught the school. Following years of growth the first church became overcrowded and a new church was needed. The ground breaking for the current church was October 7, 1962. Since that time, as part of the Capital Campaigns, St. Joan of Arc was able to renovate many areas of the church property. Storm windows and screens were installed to protect the stained glass windows, as well as a new heating and cooling system. The parking lot has been resurfaced, roofs have been repaired, and the pews have been refinished. The school went through a large remodeling process in 1999, and the rededication ceremony took place on September 28, 2003. The convent has now transitioned to the Parish Center, and houses administrative offices, meeting rooms, work rooms, the school library, and preschool.